Crios de Susana Balbo Malbec 2009 | Wine.com

 

We have added the following products to your shopping cart from a previous visit:

    Crios de Susana Balbo Malbec 2009
    Malbec - Argentina, South America

    Reviews

    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    • (17)

    Ratings

    • RP90
    Price: $15.00
    Sold Out
    The 2014 vintage is available for $15.99
    Add To Cart
    Ships Mon, May 4
    Set New Arrival Alert

    Wine.com Quick Facts

    Professional Ratings: 90 The Wine Advocate

    Region: Argentina, South America

    Varietal: Malbec

    Other Info: Screw Cap Wines

    Style: Big & Bold

    Alcohol By Volume: 13.9%

    • 10%
    • 16%

    Item no. 105844

    Winemaker's Notes:

    The wine has a beautiful reddish/purple color as most good Malbecs do. The aromas are a mix of freshly crushed black cherries and toasty/smoky oak—just enough to frame the exuberant fruit. On the palate, the flavors of cherries and spice are obvious, and the jammy fruit quality just keeps coming on strong, with hints of spice and sandalwood lurking in the background. This is a wine that you'll want to buy by the case because it can be consumed at almost any occasion, whether at a fancy dinner party, or just curled up on the couch in front of a movie. Fun and delicious—what more can you ask for?!

    Critical Acclaim:

    Blended with 10% Bonarda; incense, spice box, underbrush, black cherry, savory, ripe, long.

    90 Points
    The Wine Advocate
    • Learn More About the Winery

    • Learn More About Malbec

    • Learn More About Argentina, South America

    User Reviews:

    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    bessieblue (6/9/2011)
    This wine consistently overdelivers for $15. Being in the industry, I've seen a lot of flash-in-the-pan Malbecs coming out in this price range these days, but for at least the past few vintages, Crios has delivered big fruit, good spice, not too much oak, and enough acid to keep it all in balance. Very reliable.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    Keoni (1/5/2011)
    Beautiful wine....smooth with fruity overtones, but well-balanced. A great price for such a nice wine.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    Daniel Moriarty (6/19/2012)
    A nice full bodied Malbec. We really enjoyed this.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    Bob Corcoran (10/7/2011)
    Bright with nice black fruit and spices, a bit more lively then I'm used to with Malbec (I tend to look for 08 - found a stash of 08 Maipe for $10 localy I've been enjoyong ) - but very enjoyable - nice price for a good wine!
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    Kim Broers (9/29/2011)
    Always a best value in malbec. Love this female winemaker.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    Second Label Wine (1/19/2011)
    I know some people will take issue with calling this Crios a second label. It’s definitely a grey area and probably does fall more into the category of an entire second line of wines. But since I get to make the rules, we’re going to call it a second label. And when you account for the fact that Kori and I drank ridiculous amounts of Susana Balbo’s wine when we lived in Argentina, there is no way that I’m going to leave her off my list. The Malbec grape finds its origins in Bordeaux as a minor blending grape. On its own, it can be a beast and this young Crios is no exception. If you are looking for a subtle, nuanced wine, then you need to look elsewhere. In fact, don’t look for anything subtle in Argentina, wine or otherwise. This wine is deep purple in color with fresh cherries, plums and other lush fruit abounding. There is also ample oak along with some vanilla and spice undertones. The wine is definitely out of balance, but I say that with all due respect to my friends in Argentina. Sometimes it’s a good thing to lose control, and this Crios is a prime example. Food Pairing Suggestions: This is an open and shut case. The Crios Malbec needs a thick-cut grilled T-bone steak and a loaded baked potato. I would hesitate to serve this wine with a softer, more marbled piece of meat like a rib eye. This is an in-your-face wine, so it deserves an in-your-face meal. BBQ brisket would also do the trick. Just remember well seasoned meat coupled with the grill is the key.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    richard hirsch (4/3/2011)
    Not a bad Malbec but not as good as others in the same price range.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    eCo (1/21/2011)
    I was really looking forward to tasting this wine. A big, bold, earthy malbec would be just the thing for the prime strip I prepared this evening. I could tell, tho, as I poured the first glass this wasn't going to be the wine I had hoped for. The color was "reddish/purple", but not dense and opaque as a rich wine would be. On tasting, it was perfectly pleasant in every way, except that it was weak and insipid. There was no way this wine was going to measure up to the prime strip I was preparing. I ended up pouring half the bottle into the port wine and mushroom reduction sauce I was preparing on the stove. It was quite nice once it became concentrated to the point it should have been in the first place (and beyond). But I can't add any stars for that.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    cmason (9/10/2011)
    no
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    111ImNumber1 (6/8/2011)
    Overrated indeed! This wine is boring on the palate. You don't feel it on the midpalate. It is bitter. On the nose you get good things though, spics, black fruits, blackberry. The only reason I gave it 2 stars is because of the sniff and the color. It is purple like good Malbec, but that doesn't live up to the way it tastes!

    Need help? Just call 1-800-592-5870

    WineShopper: Daily Deals up to 70% Off

    Visit Full Site | Feedback

    Copyright © 1999-2015 Wine.com, Inc. All rights reserved.
    Wine.com and logo are trademarks of Wine.com, Inc.