Apothic Red Blend 2011 | Wine.com

 

We have added the following products to your shopping cart from a previous visit:

    Apothic Red Blend 2011
    Other Red Blends - California

    Reviews

    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    • (13)

     

    Price: $13.00
    Sold Out
    The 2013 vintage is available for $10.99
    Add To Cart
    Ships Wed, Sep 9
    Set New Arrival Alert

    Wine.com Quick Facts

    Region: California

    Varietal: Other Red Blends

    Item no. 119722

    Winemaker's Notes:

    Apothic Red is bold and enchanting, as it captures the dark fruit characteristics of Syrah and Zinfandel. These jammy flavors blend well with the elegant blackberry and black cherry characteristics of the Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon grapes. The wine is further enhanced by undertones of mocha and vanilla.

    • Learn More About the Winery

    • Learn More About Other Red Blends

    • Learn More About California

    User Reviews:

    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    Lima Delta (10/23/2012)
    Had no idea that I have been drinking such a sweet wine until I read these reviews. This is one of my favorite, all purpose, red wines. It plays well with a variety of foods and is a good wine on its own as well. I do not consider this a sweet wine, nor has anyone else that has tried it. I typically stay away from sweet wines - and would certainly not consider this even remotely similar to port. Perhaps there was a significant change between vintages? Otherwise I truly can't understand how this could be categorized as sweet. If you are a fan of blends (as I am) give it a try.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    MNRN (10/19/2012)
    not sophisticated but easy to drink red, what you would expect from such a blend, good price;
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    Grapezillla (10/2/2012)
    Simply awful. As sweet as port. Managed to drink half a glass and poured the rest down the sink. Looking for a negative star rating.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    honest_rian (11/30/2013)
    Loved it! Super smooth red!
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    stephlokken (1/5/2013)
    I'm not a huge red person, but this is amazing!!!
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    WineBine (12/23/2012)
    I love this, use to drink another similar one, but this one is even better.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    CarrieB33 (11/7/2012)
    I'm picky about red wine, but I love Apothic Red. Such a great blend, perfect balance of flavors.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    SchuylerCarlton (8/24/2013)
    Fav wine under $10 right now
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    1cubanita (2/19/2013)
    Something of a wine snob, but no expert by far. My palate has come a long way since merlots and sweet wines. I am equally surprised to see reviews comparing it to a port. I see in the description, jammy...mocha, vanilla but it has more of the rich zin/syrah flavors than anything sweet. If you're not a 'blends' person, this wine may not be compatible with your palate. I went to a recent tasting of Rhone reds, 20 people: 15 people LOVED 2 of the wines while the rest of us pretty much hated them; vice versa for the other 2 wines. I think our palates have a few categories and it may just be we fall on different parts of the scale. I personally loved it by accident without knowing what it was, nor the price. I think it's a great wine, and I love meritages and the stronger reds such as cab, malbec, franc, zin, and syrah. Do not like very sweet regular wine, or dessert wines.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    cccoy (12/9/2012)
    I'm surprised to hear the negative reviews. Although this wine is sweet I definitely wouldn't call it a port. The trick is pairing it with food. If it's too sweet, pair it with something salty.

    Need help? Just call 1-800-592-5870

    WineShopper: Daily Deals up to 70% Off

    Visit Full Site | Feedback | StewardShip Settlement

    Copyright © 1999-2015 Wine.com, Inc. All rights reserved.
    Wine.com and logo are trademarks of Wine.com, Inc.