Segura Viudas Brut Cava | Wine.com

 

We have added the following products to your shopping cart from a previous visit:

    Segura Viudas Brut Cava
    Non-Vintage Sparkling Wine - Spain

    Reviews

    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    • (39)

    Ratings

    • W&S89
    Price: $8.99
    Add To Cart
    Ships Thu, Apr 30
    Set New Arrival Alert

    Wine.com Quick Facts

    Professional Ratings: 89 Wine & Spirits

    Region: Spain

    Varietal: Non-Vintage Sparkling Wine

    Alcohol By Volume: 12%

    • 10%
    • 16%

    Item no. 4104

    Winemaker's Notes:

    * Segura Viudas has recently changed the label on their Brut Cava. The wine is exactly the same, but customers may receive a black or cream-colored label.

    Segura Viudas Brut Reserva Cava, created from a blend of reserve and non-vintage wines, is clean and delicate, yet rich in flavor.

    Brut is a cuvée of Macabeo, Parellada and Xarel-lo grapes grown in the renowned Penedès region of Spain. The wine is vinified according to méthode champenoise technique and is aged in the bottle for up to 2 years.

    This fine cuvée is fairly crisp with an interesting floral note and mouth-pleasing sensation of creaminess.

    Critical Acclaim:

    One of the most reliable Cavas at the price, this offers cool, crisp cider apple flavors along with leesy notes of toast, nuts and flowers. It's gentle and clean, fuel for a dance party. Best Buy.

    89 Points
    Wine & Spirits
    • Learn More About the Winery

    • Learn More About Non-Vintage

    • Learn More About Spain

    User Reviews:

    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    jennifer (9/28/2010)
    Lovely and what a wonderful wine for the money. Buy cases and serve it fearlessly over the holidays. I will.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    Amanda S. (9/27/2010)
    Tried this one because of the price and rating, but it isn't as smooth as some others in same price range.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    Iel (9/28/2010)
    I enjoyed aliment as much as Wolf Blass Yellow Label Brut
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    AlaskaLight (9/27/2010)
    We've taken this to get-togethers in the past and we're taking it to a ThanksGiving potluck with extended family. Sparkling Spanish whites were greeted with a very positive response.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    elf (2/1/2012)
    Restaurant wine is $9 a glass. This is great with food. Highly recommend.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    poemorella (9/29/2010)
    Loved this cava, light, dry with delicate bubbles. I will definitely buy this one again.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    william nielsen (5/22/2011)
    This is a very good sparkling wine for the money. If you are looking for a sparkling wine that is priced for everyday drinking, this tastes as good as those that are twice the price.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    Radena (3/17/2011)
    I bought 6 cases of this for my wedding. It's incredibly easy to drink for all fans of the bubbly, tastes great, and you absolutely can't beat the price.
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    Scott Citino (12/26/2010)
    This inexpensive dry, fresh champagne has nice accents of apple and citrus
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    •  
    B in SC (12/16/2010)
    It's important to remember when tasting wine that a Cava; 6 bucks at my local wine shop; can't be compared to, say, 1996 Bollinger R.D. Yes, they both have bubbles and are made in similar manners, but two cases of this and a bottle of the '96 Bolly will set you back around the same amount. And, if you go through bubbles like I do, the top flight stuff can't come out that often. So, what is the Segura Viudas? Solid. Very tight on the nose, though it opens up as it warms, the nose is never really gets there for me. Which is disappointing, because a sparkler should have a great nose. I find the palate one-dimensional, and a little sweet for a Brut. Tastes of lemons, fading to apples. More apples on the finish, though it fades quickly. Good price point for everyday bubbles you don't have to age, worlds better than the Andre crud that inhabit the same price point, and compares favourably to the California "champagne" that starts with K. Wine and Spirits got little carried away, but 87 would be a fair score. (Not a 90 point wine at all) Good value and consistent from bottle to bottle.

    Need help? Just call 1-800-592-5870

    WineShopper: Daily Deals up to 70% Off

    Visit Full Site | Feedback

    Copyright © 1999-2015 Wine.com, Inc. All rights reserved.
    Wine.com and logo are trademarks of Wine.com, Inc.